Our (Project) Life – April 2012

After a busy few weeks, I finally had some free time to create my April pages. For some reason, these pages came together more quickly than past months’ pages.

I love how my 2012 album is looking so far. However, I already know that I would like to spend less time on my pages next year because I want to devote some of my free time working on the girls’ albums and getting them current.

My plan is to make my 2013 album more streamlined and formulaic so the pages come together quickly; practically on their own. I want the pages to be a little fun to look at but with fewer embellishments. With less extras, I will be able to fit more photos on a page. There will be specific journaling prompts and spaces. Another goal is to fit two years into one album (currently, one year fills an entire album). That means I will need to be extremely selective about the pictures I use and limit the number of inserts.

Once I get the girls’ albums current, I would like to go back to the style of pages that I am doing now. I enjoy playing with the paper and figuring out how to make it all come together aesthetically pleasing to my eye.

Anyway, enough of that rambling. Here are last month’s pages (two spreads + four inserts):

Our (Project) Life - April 2012
^ spread #1, with the four inserts stacked on the right ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (1)
^ left side of spread #1 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (2)
^ front of insert #1 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (3)
^ back of insert #1 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (4)
^ front of insert #2 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (5)
^ back of insert #2 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (6)
^ front of insert #3 (my daily iPhone pictures that I process through Instagram) ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (7)
^ back of insert #3 on the left; front of insert #4 on the right (captions for each daily picture) ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (8)
^ right side of spread #1 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (9)
^ full spread #2 ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (10)
^ left side of spread #2: Mallory’s birthday [I don’t like how this page turned out, but it’s done and that’s what’s important right now] ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (11)
^ right side of spread #2: Easter ^

Our (Project) Life - April 2012 (12)
^ *hidden* journaling on Easter page ^

And that’s it for April 2012. Thanks for looking!

The Mom Creative

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

My goal with documenting our family is simply to document SOMETHING each month. Some months will include more or less photos depending on how much is going on. Most people are using the Project Life system, developed by Becky Higgins, to document a photo-a-day or a week’s worth of happenings per spread. I am using the Project Life system a little differently as I am taking the monthly approach for each spread and then adding in extra pages or inserts when necessary.

Leave a Reply

