Our (Project) Life: January 2012

In the last year I have not been good about blogging our family’s happenings. It just wasn’t a priority. However, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been documenting it. That has been happening offline.

I am now contemplating merging my two worlds and adding my offline memory keeping here. I will have to see how it goes and if I can keep it up.

So, without further ado, here are my pages for last month…

 JANUARY: grandparents visit & everyday life

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ full spread #1, with inserts on the right ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ left side of spread #1 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #1 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #1, need to add date ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #2. I started taking a photo-a-day with my iPhone in November and am adding those pictures to my albums in coin storage pages. I am writing the day of the month on each pocket with a white or black paint-type pen. There are 40 slots in each coin storage page which leaves room for the monthly title (4 slots) and any extra photos for days when I want to include more than one picture a day. On days when I forget to take a picture, I am adding in the number of the day as a larger graphic. ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #2 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #3. I have been blogging my daily iPhone photos. To add that journaling to my albums, I copy and paste it into a blank document and print it to explain the photos. The back of this insert is more of the same journaling. ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ right hand side of spread #1 ^

JANUARY: specific topics

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ full spread #2 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ left side of spread #2 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ right side of spread #2 ^

JANUARY: our vacation

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ full spread #3 with inserts on the right. It’s blurry; it’s not your eyes. ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ left side of spread #3 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #4 (hotel postcard) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #4 and front of insert #5 (half of a business card page) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #5 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ right side of spread #3 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ spread #4, with inserts (more vacation photos; it was our first kid-free vacation since having kids almost 6 years ago and I wanted to document it well) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ left side of spread #4 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #6 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #6 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ right side of spread #4 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ full spread #5 with insert on right (more vacation) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ left side spread #5 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #7 (postcards we sent to our girls) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #7 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ right side of spread #5 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ full spread #6, with insert (returning from vacation) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ left side of spread #6 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ front of insert #8 (in a half page — 5.5″ x 8.5″ — insert) ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ back of insert #8 ^

Our (Project) Life - January 2012
^ right side of spread #6 (need to add date) ^

And that’s how we spent our January, six spreads and eight inserts later.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

My goal with documenting our family is simply to document SOMETHING each month. Some months will include more or less photos depending on how much is going on. Most people are using the Project Life system, developed by Becky Higgins, to document a photo-a-day or a week’s worth of happenings per spread. My process is a little different as I am taking the monthly approach for each spread and then adding in extra pages or inserts when necessary.

4 thoughts on “Our (Project) Life: January 2012

  1. Now that I’ve looked at this again…this is what stands out to me: I love the way you repeat elements – like mirroring shapes, letting washi tape and label stickers go over multiple inserts. I also LOVE the way you cut that blue bracket journaling card from the Clementine kit. That’s one of my fav cards and now I have a whole new way to use it.

Leave a Reply

