Surprised, to say the least…

I’ve been a little preoccupied lately because of this:

Surprise!

On Father’s Day, Jonathan (and I) got an extra special gift of finding out that we are expecting our third child. And I may end up with an extra special gift on my birthday next year (2/22) since the due date is 2/24 (Chelsea came one day early).

The unexpected news of this third child has been a life changing event for me.  Besides the fatigue and ever present nausea I’m currently experiencing (this pregnancy is kicking my butt), I can’t fathom how I’ll manage to be a good parent to three little ones, ALL AT THE SAME TIME. I can hardly keep up with these two. Chelsea will be newly 2 and Mallory will be 3 (a month and a half shy of 4) when the baby is due. Don’t get me wrong, we were definitely open to the idea of a third child, but LATER when Mallory is in school full time in a couple of years.

So, I’m kinda freakin’ out and I think about how this will all playout constantly. Maybe when the first trimester yuck of nausea and fatigue go away (hopefully!), my perspective will change (hopefully).

What I need to keep in perspective now is that we have two sweet, happy and healthy girls (save their allergies) who get along well. We have a roof over our heads with room for another child (we think we’ll keep the baby in the bassinet/pack-n-play for 6 months, then move him/her to the crib in Chelsea’s current room; at that point Chelsea would be 2.5 and we’d move her into Mal’s room and the girls would share the double bed; children have shared a bed for centuries, surely we can make it work for us). Jonathan has a job in this weak economy. We have great friends and a supportive family. We have our health. What more could we ask for?

The only real change we will need to make is my car. I can’t fit three carseats in my car, so we’ve already started the process of researching what will work for us. I’m leaning toward minivan from a purely what’s-most-practical standpoint (Toyota Sienna is top of the list); Jonathan is leaning toward anything BUT minivan (he’s too cool for that ;)). I know we could go the route of bigger SUV, but I really don’t want anything that big.

I’m currently 9.5 weeks along. We should find out the gender around 17 weeks. I am hoping by then that I will have my energy back and be feeling better. Wish me luck.

{Note: I do know that millions of women before me have had three children (or more) and survived just fine. The surprise of this caught me off guard and it wasn’t the plan, so it is taking me awhile to process (accept?) it all. Part of the anxiety is that Jonathan’s work will require him to start putting in more hours so he’ll be home less; we don’t have any immediate family in-state to help; and the girls’ allergies prevent me from getting a break from fixing all of their meals if I am tired or overwhelmed or need the convenience of eating out — i.e. we can’t just run to Chick-fil-A for lunch. We can sometimes supplement their meals with restaurant food (like ordering a fruit bowl), but we still have to provide the major portion of their meal with food brough from home.

I know I’ll get through this, somehow… Just give me some time. :)}

9 thoughts on “Surprised, to say the least…

  1. Oh Lucia, I am so happy for you! I know it’s overwhelming right now (I have 2.5 yr old twins and would panic at the idea of a 3rd too), but what a wonderful blessing!

  2. Lucia,
    I can only imagine your surprise. Once the shock wears off, I know everything will be okay. You are an amazing mommy. I bet Mallory will be at just the right age to want to help with the new baby. I am so very happy for you. You have an amazing family to welcome a new one too. We have a mazda CX9 (a 3-row/7 seater SUV) but I really want a Honda Odessey so I think we’re going to look into getting one of those. Let me know if you want a CX-9. Ha!

    Please let me know if there’s anything I can do. I’ll be praying for you.

    P.s. I turned Avery’s seat back around! Thanks for the great advice.

  3. Hey Lucia,
    I’m so excited for you guys!! I’ve always heard that adding a third is not too bad! You are an awesome mom, and I know you will do just fine. Also, I really think that the age differences are perfect. When we had Taylor, we went ahead and bought a bigger car because we knew eventually we would have a third child. I said that I would never drive a minivan, but I definitely ate my words! 😉 Kyle was not too fond of buying one at first because of the not-so-cool factor, but its definitely grown on him and he sees the practicality of having one. We have a Honda Odessey and I will have to say that I really do love it! It’s so easy to get the kids in and out of. The kids can climb up into the van so easily. I always thought that the automatic doors were silly, but I use them so much especially when you have your hands full! Very nice. We also have the DVD player in it, and it is a lifesaver for long trips!

    I’ll definitely be praying for you as you go through the rest of your pregnancy!!

  4. Pingback: Surprised, to say the least… | Better Well-Being

  5. Yeah, Wilkes!!! I’m very excited for you guys! I can’t wait to hear how the pregnancy goes. I bet you were totally shocked, as I’m sure I would be, too. It’s going to be fun, though! Can you imagine a house full of girls??? Maybe the little bean is a boy to even things out a bit. 🙂 Keep us posted! I love the news!!

  6. Congratulations, Lucia! I was surprised and overwhelmed when we found out we were pregnant with our second, but I keep telling myself that everything happens for a reason! I can’t imagine what you must be going through though! But everyone says that three is nothing after having two…..surely they are all right! But I know you will make a fantastic mommy to all three of your children, who are growing up so much everyday!! Congrats again!

Leave a Reply

