A new lens!

My mother’s day gift was a new lens for my DSLR camera. I finally got around to ordering it and it arrived yesterday. My new lens, a 50mm f/1.8, is supposed to be good for portraits and close-ups. It allows you to take pictures with a shallow depth of field (meaning… the background of close-up shots looks blurry). Shallow DOF also means that it can be hard to take pictures that are in-focus (where you want them to be) consistently. I’ve taken more than 100 pictures in the last day and only a handful came out truly in-focus where I wanted. It sounds silly to use a lens that’s hard to get consistently good shots out of, but I know if I keep practicing my shots will be better than before. I am also getting betting about shooting in manual mode and have learned how to do custom white balancing. Here are some shots from the last day using my new lens, shooting in manual without the flash (hard to do in our DARK house) and some I’ve done custom white balancing. Some pictures ended up being overexposed, but since they were mostly IN focus, I included them. 😛 And, the spot on Mallory’s nose was once a tiny scratch. She’s since picked it and picked it and picked it so it is now a bigger sore.

Close-up

Close-up

Downward Facing Dog

On the move

No more pictures!

Click on thumbnails to see pictures full size.
Hanging out Sitting Up Feet Close-up And off the carpet She sits. Sideways

Leave a Reply

