Happy New Baby!

We rung in the new year with the birth of our daughter. She was born at 4:09 AM after a relatively short labor. She weighs 7 pounds 10 ounces and is 20.5 inches long. We still don’t have a name for her but will soon.

The story of her birth:
Last night I began to be concerned about the baby as I hadn’t felt her move in several hours and she’s normally very active in the evening. My OB said to call if I had decreased fetal movement, so I did and the doctor on call said to go to the hospital to get checked out and ease my mind. She also thought I might be in the early stages of labor given my contractions and other symptoms. We arrived at the hospital around 10 PM. They hooked me up to monitors and thankfully found the baby’s heartbeat right away. My contractions weren’t regular, coming every 1 – 6 minutes. Around 11 PM the nurse checked me and I was 3 cm dilated (I was 2 cm at my appointment last Thursday, 12/27). She said she’d check me again in an hour and if I had made progress then I’d be admitted, but if I hadn’t made progress in the hour, they’d send me home. My contractions were getting more intense at this point, but still manageable. Then, maybe 20 minutes later, the nurse came back and said the doctor decided to admit me without waiting to see what my cervix did since it seemed like I was in true labor.

We got settled into our room a little before midnight and we watched the ball in Times Square drop on the TV. I asked for some pain medicine to take the edge off the contractions until I got my epidural. Once the Demerol took effect, I couldn’t think or see straight so I tried to get some rest. My water broke on its own after that when I was about 5 cm.

At this point my contractions were becoming increasingly painful and I started to get very scared that I couldn’t handle the pain so I asked for an epidural ASAP. I got my epidural at 1:20 AM, was 6 cm and by the time it took effect and I only *suffered* through a handful of very painful contractions.

Our nurse thought we might deliver the baby by noon on new year’s day so we tried to get some more rest. She periodically checked my progress over the next two hours and, low and behold, I was fully dilated a little before 4 AM. After pushing through 3 contractions, our baby girl was born at 4:09 AM.

Jonathan cut the cord and I held her right away. Her coloring was washed out, so they took her to the nursery to *pink her up*. She was in the nursery for 3 hours and then brought back to us once her coloring was good and she could maintain her temperature. She’s healthy, beautiful and doing great. Jonathan and I are exhausted from a busy night.

We’ll post photos soon, hopefully later today. So, check back in a little while.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Baby!

  1. YEAH!! Welcome to the world little one— Congratulations to Mom & Dad and Big Sis–
    Sorry I am not there to see the new baby but enjoy while you can —

Leave a Reply

